SERVICE FEES

Required mission statements and fee agreements

As required by law, all services performed by the firm shall be preceded by a mission statement and fee agreement.

For legal and consulting services, the missions statement lists the client’s expectations, for example, creating a legal corporate structure including certain characteristics or writing up a consultation on the interest of a certain taxation option, etc.

For litigation cases, the mission statement will follow the history of the dispute from beginning to the litigation and may already contain solution options which will act as a useful legal basis to defend the client’s interests, and which will later be explored by the attorney.

For all cases, the fee agreement will define the conditions of calculating fees for diligence (work completed and services rendered), costs paid for and/or advanced by the firm in the client’s interest, and if applicable, the result-contingent fee.

Determining a fee based only on the result is strictly prohibited by French law. Result fees will only be due if damages and interests are awarded and/or in case of savings the client could not enjoy without involvement by the attorney.

Dealing with a “long” case (for example, proceedings before a tribunal then in an appellate court), i.e., usually lasting several years, will be charged in stages as the case progresses with each stage being covered by a detailed invoice.

The attorney will advise which type of billing is best suited for the service rendered: either as a flat fee or at an hourly rate.

Legal protection insurance

We always invite our clients to verify whether they have legal protection insurance.

If so, especially for litigation cases, you are responsible for filing a declaration with your insurer in order to open a case and for asking your insurer to send you an updated list of compensation rates applicable to your policy. That way, for example, depending on their rates and the type of insurance policy, your legal protection could cover the amiable negotiation phase up to €400, proceedings before the tribunal of first instance may be covered up to €1,500, legal expert fees may be covered up to €5,000, or proceedings before an appellate court may be covered up to €1,800, and so on.

Some types of legal protection also cover all or part of legal and consulting services, so we ask all clients to verify what type of insurance policy they hold with their respective insurers.

COÛT DE NOTRE INTERVENTION

La lettre de mission et la convention d’honoraires obligatoires

Conformément à la loi, toute mission confiée au Cabinet, donnera lieu à l’établissement préalable d’une lettre de mission et d’une convention d’honoraires.

Dans les missions juridiques et de conseil, la lettre de mission expose les attentes du Client : par exemple, créer une structure sociale sui présentera telles caractéristiques, et rédiger une consultation sur l’intérêt de telle ou telle option fiscale.

Dans les dossiers contentieux, la lettre de mission retrace l’historique de la naissance du litige, et peut d’ores et déjà contenir des axes de solutions (premiers fondements juridiques utiles à la défense des intérêts du Client), qui seront ultérieurement explorés par l’Avocat.

Dans tous les dossiers, la convention d’honoraires définit les modalités de calcul des honoraires de diligences (travail accompli, prestations fournies), des frais exposés et/ou avancés par le Cabinet dans l’intérêt du Client, ainsi que, s’il y a lieu, de l’honoraire de résultat.

La détermination d’un honoraire basé uniquement sur le résultat, est rigoureusement interdite en droit français. L’honoraire de résultat ne sera dû qu’en cas d’obtention de dommages et intérêts et/ou d’une économie dont le Client n’aurait pu bénéficier, sans l’intervention de l’Avocat.

Le traitement d’un dossier « au long cours » (par exemple, une procédure devant un tribunal, puis une Cour d’appel), c’est-à-dire en général sur plusieurs années, sera facturé par étapes, au fur et à mesure de sa progression, avec, à chaque fois, une facture détaillée.

L’Avocat vous conseillera le type de facturation le plus approprié à la mission confiée : au forfait, ou au temps passé.

Assurance protection juridique

Nous invitons toujours nos Clients à vérifier s’ils disposent, ou pas, d’une assurance protection juridique.

En ce cas, spécialement pour les dossiers contentieux, il vous incombe de faire une déclaration auprès de votre assureur, en vue de l’ouverture d’un dossier, et de demander à votre assureur, qu’il vous adresse le dernier barème d’indemnisation en vigueur, applicable à votre contrat. Ainsi, par exemple, des protections juridiques prévoient (selon leur barème, et le type de police d’assurance souscrite), que la phase de négociation amiable est indemnisée à hauteur de 400 €, qu’une procédure devant le tribunal de grande instance est indemnisée à hauteur de 1500 €, que les honoraires d’un expert judiciaire sont couverts jusqu’à 5000 €, qu’une procédure devant une cour d’appel sont couverts jusqu’à 1800 €, etc.

Certaines protections juridiques couvrent également tout ou partie des prestations juridiques et de conseil : chacun est invité à vérifier dans son contrat ou auprès de son assureur.